From Teaching to Tech!

From Teaching to Tech!

ยท

5 min read

Cheers to my Software Engineering journey!

Last year, I decided to learn more about Front End Development. Coding looked fun and I wondered why I hadn't found an interest sooner. I saw many videos where people stated how they found coding during the pandemic, even knew of people in real life who made the switch then, and it made me think what was I indulging in, in 2020? I remembered! I had found a love for houseplants, and cultivating mushrooms, and I was getting a Master's in Education (conferred in 2020). Needless to say, I was on my own path, but not far from the coding path. Let it be known that I decided at 33 to charter my coding path in 2022 and I know I am where I am supposed to be.

I see many people ask, "where do I start" or they get nervous about the idea that transitioning will be hard, but I put all fears behind me and decided to push forward. Many people wonder why I want to leave teaching. I have many reasons and although I will miss it (it's what I have done for the last ten years), I know that had someone told me that I could be good at computers too, I would have chosen this path a long time ago. Hair was always my first passion; teaching was what I did to satisfy the vision that others had for me. So when I sat back and thought about making this transition, I realized at 33, that I was finally making a career decision for myself (I still find it crazy that we do this at the tender age of 18).

So to those who are contemplating leaving teaching (or any other field that doesn't quite meet your needs), I say consider these things:

  • Choose a field in tech.

  • Set a goal.

  • Remember what motivated you.

Choose a field in tech.

Even as I write my first blog, I feel that I have only wet my toes in tech. I am still learning the differences and similarities in tech careers. This is why Front End Development led me to see the bigger picture of Software Engineering. I kept thinking why not learn it all?! Cloud Engineering would have been my second choice and Cybersecurity, my last. If I could do all three of them I would, simply because I love learning. Definitely do what you feel is best for you. Browse and shop the same way you would for your favorite buys.

Set a goal.

Having ADHD, I require lots of structure, and I am still learning exactly what that looks like at my age. I write everything out in a planner so that I don't forget. I know for a fact that I hate Mondays (so it's best to prepare well for them) and I know that I am most likely to hyper-focus on whatever has my attention the best, so time management would be a necessity. For this reason, I set a goal to complete my self-directed boot camp (through Flat Iron School) within one year. Our deadline is 60 weeks, but I want to finish before that, so all school breaks, including summer, will now be fast tracks to completing my assignments. I know the saying goes, rules are made to be broken, however, that doesn't apply to goals. They are made to be completed. So goals may require some adjusting, but the finish line is always the light at the end of the tunnel.

Remember what motivated you.

Lately, I have been looking for how to keep a passion fuel going, nothing I want to find in a book, but something within myself. One thing I have learned is reminding myself of what is motivating me to complete my goal gets me excited all over again. For me switching to tech meant a few things:

-It meant thriving as an online worker, and embracing my introversion while also working with others. I must admit my favorite part of being a teacher during the pandemic was working from home and balancing online teaching so well. It was a happy place. I still remember reading the email about going back, and the sickening feeling in my stomach NEVER LEFT.

-It meant having the freedom to work around the world, and not always have to sit inside four walls. It sounds prison-esque because working in a building for an extensive amount of hours feels that way. I constantly think about how I didn't want to wait until I was old to travel, nor did I want to feel like I had to choose between work and home each time. I am kidless at the moment besides three pets; I would love to see the world with them and whip out my laptop while I am at a coffee shop, cat patio, or beach in Venice. I literally envision myself doing these things all the time. This is why I knew I had to switch.

-Finally, I knew that I could lead a life and legacy, financially, that I always wanted. Many times when I looked at the salaries for the positions I wanted in tech, they weren't far off from where I could be as a teacher. I teach in California, I am well certified (even still awaiting National Board results), and I am making the most money as a teacher that I have ever made, but again, at what cost? I thought about what I am willing to give up to be in a Software Engineering position, and I am okay with giving up a high salary with a high growth projection, easy leadership advancement, 95% health insurance coverage, and paid summers off for my health, sanity, future, and to be doing something I wasn't just good at, but I love.

I say all of this to say, if it is a decision you want to make, you will make it happen. Switching from being a teacher to a techie is possible. You already know the magic and gift of learning, don't be afraid to use it on yourself.

Happy Coding! ๐Ÿ‘ฉ๐Ÿพโ€๐Ÿ’ป

ย